Skip to content

Cardboard and Yarn Picture Frames – #1

June 27, 2010

#1: the knit frame

What You Will Need:

  • cardboard box (a cereal box or the like will work great! – I used a Cheeze-It box)
  • yarn! (your choice!)
  • knitting needles
  • scissors (need sturdy ones to cut cardboard)
  • ruler
  • pen/pencil
  • paint (I used acrylic) & paintbrush
  • tape
  • hole-punch (if possible)
  • glue! (I used hot glue)

Making the Cardboard Frame

get our your ruler and pencil! (and don’t forget the scissors!)

The first thing I did was open up my box, so it can lie flat.
Next measure out a rectangle that measures 5 in x 7 in and cut away!

As you can see, I cut off the top and bottom flaps, you need these next! ((I’m saving the rest of a box for another frame!))

Take those four smaller pieces and cut them to size: I wanted a 1.25 in border, so that’s how big mine are.

Also, measure inside of your rectangle 4 in x 6 in so that you know how to position the outside frame. (I did it in the picture above, though it’s tricky to see…)

Now it’s time to organize the front!   Put the four pieces around and see how you want it to be…and tape it!

As you can see, I over lapped a bit, this actually took away 1/2 inch of my picture, but I don’t mind (feel free to cut that part away!) Also I’m not worrying about the rough edges because I plan on covering the whole thing with my knitted piece.

Before moving on to the next phase you might want to paint the back of the rectangle and the back of the frame (for me the outside of the box would be the back) ((you might also want to paint the front of the frame, too, just in case you can see part of the cardboard through/around the yarn))

Knit Frame

I used size 7 knitting needles, and Jo-Ann Sensations Boucle with the pinks

Gauge: 4 sts/inch (both ways)

Top/Bottom Pieces (make 2)

(these I made in the dark pink Boucle)
CO 21 sts
row 1: knit
row 2: p1, m1, purl until 1 st is left, m1, p1 (23 sts)
row 3: k1, m1, knit until 1 st is left, m1, k1 (25)
row 4: p1, m1, purl until 1 st is left, m1, p1 (27)
row 5: k1, m1, knit until 1 st is left, m1, k1 (29)
BO purl-wise

Sides (make 2)

(these I made in the light pink Boucle)
CO 16 sts
row 1: knit
row 2: p1, m1, purl until 1 st is left, m1, p1 (18 sts)
row 3: k1, m1, knit until 1 st is left, m1, k1 (20)
row 4: p1, m1, purl until 1 st is left, m1, p1 (22)
row 5: k1, m1, knit until 1 st is left, m1, k1 (24)
BO purl-wise

Finishing

Sew the slanted sides together so they make a square

Slanted pieces sewn together and glued on front & the painted back panel

Finishing the Frame

Punch 2 holes at the top of the cardboard frame – size and placement is not critical.

Cut three pieces of yarn about 28 inches long and braid. Knot at both ends.

Now pull the ends through and make a bow. (see above picture!! – p.s. I glued first and then punched holes, I don’t suggest that way!) 

Glue the sewing rectangle on the cardboard one. (remember that this frame is bigger than the full rectangle, so make sure you glue on the right side!)
Cut off any extra cardboard that you can see from the front of the frame so you have a purely yarn frame (if possible) 🙂

yay! now you just need to glue on the back!

Make sure you leave one end open to slip pictures through! I also suggest putting the glue on the back where you drew the lines.

Hooray!! Find a good picture and go hang up your hard work for all to see!!! 😀

((thanks for checking out my pattern! check back in the next 2 days for a crocheted one!))

Leave a Reply

